INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Copying tags  (Read 1309 times)

Qythyx

• Galactic Citizen
Copying tags
« on: January 28, 2008, 08:12:34 pm »

When I eventually convert some of my digital photos from RAW format to JPEG (or such) is there an easy way to copy all of the tags from the original RAW to the new JPEG?

Also, are there any plans to support JPEG-2000?

marko

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Copying tags
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2008, 01:07:21 am »

I've no experience of RAW files at all. Do they keep tags in the file as well as in the database, or are they 'database only' tags?

My gut feeling is "database only", if I'm right, do you want to keep both RAW and jpg versions catalogued by MC?

The JPEG-2000 question was asked a long time ago and back then, the answer was along the lines of "not at this time"

-marko.

Qythyx

• Galactic Citizen
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2008, 07:15:49 am »

I believe you're right about some of the tags in that MC handles them and they're not in the RAW file. But that somewhat doesn't matter for what I'm trying to do. Basically I just want to transfer whatever tags exist (in the file or MC's database) to the new JPEG.

Is this possible and how?

marko

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2008, 10:35:53 am »

There's no "convert format" tool for images in MC, so the answer is no, it's not possible.

As I've said, I've zero experience with RAW files of any nature, but, if RAW files contain EXIF, IPTC or XMP metadata, I would expect your chosen conversion tool to preserve these in the new jpg file. If that's not the case though, there is a way to work around this...

1. In MC, go to Tools > Options > Library and Folders > Options and untick "run auto import in the background"
2. Close MC