INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Vinyl Ripping  (Read 28664 times)

kerenlaser

• Recent member
Vinyl Ripping
« on: June 28, 2012, 05:04:29 am »

Hello, I am new in this forum.

I am studying the prospects of backing up my vinyl library at the highest quality I can afford. My current favorite plan is as follows.

Purchase a Korg MR-2 recorder and MC software.

Record the native cartridge (V15VMR) analog output (without RIAA eq), either as DSD64 or PCM 192/24.

Transfer the file trough USB 2.0 to my Vaio SZ series laptop. I selected this 7-year old (used) model because it contains the now extinct Sound Reality audio hardware. It supposedly performs better than standard sound cards and audio interfaces. ( Does it really?)

Use the MC software to perform a digital RIAA equalization, preferably on the DSD stream. Incorporate in the filter other touch-ups, such as hf irregularities from the mismatch between the impedances of the cartridge/cabling and the Korg.

My questions are as follows.

1. Can I use the equalizer to implement the digital RIAA filter? I know the formulas and the math involved. I can also use the "MATHCAD" software to program the filter either in FFT or running in-place convolutions. Where can I find the equalizer settings?

2 Can the equalized files be transferred back to the Korg for direct playback from its memory card?

3. I plan to clean possible ticks and pops before the RIAA eq, where they can be better distinguished from true signals. Does MC have such a facility or will I have to construct my own interpolation algorithms?

If I succeed in creating my planned program, I will make it available , that is if anybody is interested...

Thanks in advance, Eli.

NickF

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Vinyl rip
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2012, 06:01:17 am »

Hi Eli and welcome to Interact.