INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: convolution vs MC19's DSP  (Read 2750 times)

jacqlan111

• Junior Woodchuck
convolution vs MC19's DSP
« on: December 04, 2013, 07:07:08 am »

Hi to all
I've been working with MC's capacity for all my DSP needs for a couple of years now.  With the help of this forum's experts I was able to fix crossovers for a 3 way multichannel and multi-poweramp (6 ch + subwoofer = 7.1 settings).

In conjunction with REW measurements Tools, MC'DSP allowed me to mixed all channels to the right destination and choose the best filter slopes at XO freq. cuts (lowpass and highpass) and every other DSP correction filters.

I'm questioning the need to invest in any other software to manage my system.  I like to make my own correction filters one at the time and only where I judge that I must do this particular EQ correction.  Some EQ auto-corrections software produces wrong corrections in places for many reasons (room modes and HF narrow dips)  and in my opinion they should be managed with great care.
It seems that everybody or almost are using convolution engines.  Are they just a command list doing the same thing that we can do manually with MC19 Tools?

Maybe the filter types are limited here but is it that important?

I hope that guys around here that are way ahead of me will clarified these simple questions.

Thank you for your attention.

jacques

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: convolution vs MC19's DSP
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2013, 10:19:57 am »