ICE

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

ICETCP.PRO and ICETCP.PLUS are compatible with Windows 11!

Author Topic: ICE TCP PRO hangs  (Read 1352 times)

Henrik

• Place Personal Text Here
ICE TCP PRO hangs
« on: June 30, 2004, 03:08:00 pm »

Client OS: Windows XP and Windows ME
ICE TCP PRO version: 5.1.09

I have recently been called in as IT support at company x.
I'm fairly new to the set-up of this software but have been doing some research.
This company have been using ICE TCP for some time now and were originally on ISDN running the software without any problems.
When switching to DSL a couple of months ago they started experiencing screens freezing every 15 minutes or so.
It does not seem to be a server issue as clients at other locations can connect to the server via DSL without any problems.

Would an upgrade to the latest version possibly solve this problem?
If so where would I start?

After running some diagnostic tests it seems that the connection is not loosing any packets and so I'm looking for some setting for DSL in particular or something that needs to be modified for us not to loose our connection.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

/Henrik

jimn

• Global Moderator
  • Ice Artist
Re:ICE TCP PRO hangs
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2004, 01:58:53 pm »

There is one thing you can try. Get the current version (5.1.21). After installing, Admin portion and User portion, add the following DWORD key to the Registry with this path;

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\J. River\ICE.TCP\5.0\KeepAlive

set the KeepAlive to a value of 1
« Last Edit: February 12, 2008, 05:08:31 pm by Bob »

Henrik

ICE TCP PRO hangs
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2004, 05:43:44 pm »

This does not work at all. After adding this registry setting the software doesn't want to start up at all. Error message "Unknown: 10042".
Any other suggestions?

Henrik

ICE TCP PRO hangs
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2004, 03:39:55 pm »