INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is there a way to avoid using the GPU for HDMI output?  (Read 170 times)

haggis999

• Galactic Citizen

The Intel NUC I have been using for several years as an HTPC has just died. Rather than replace it, I decided to use my primary Windows 11 workstation as the HTPC. The HDMI output of the GPU card on this workstation is now connected to my AV amp.

When using this to play multi-channel DSF files (ripped from my SACDs) I hit an unexpected problem. The music would stop as soon as the workstation's monitors went to sleep. However, it didn't take me long to find that JRiver already had a solution to this problem, using the audio setting of "Disable display from turning off (useful for HDMI audio)".

The only issue with that solution is that it leaves the two monitors on my workstation running when they are not being used. I could just switch them off, but is there a way to add an alternative HDMI output to a PC that bypasses the GPU card? I'm guessing that a discrete sound card might be the only way to do this.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?

haggis999

• Galactic Citizen
Re: Is there a way to avoid using the GPU for HDMI output?
« Reply #2 on: Today at 06:24:54 am »

Like this?
https://www.amazon.com/Adapter-Multi-Display-Converter-Projector-Chromebook/dp/B087PD9KSZ/