INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: PC audio/home theater with no AVR or pre/pro?  (Read 12671 times)

Tip24/96

• Recent member
PC audio/home theater with no AVR or pre/pro?
« on: March 12, 2015, 05:49:53 am »

I have been into home theater and DIYaudio for over 20 years, but, I am somewhat new at computer based audio/video, so please bear with me and hold my hand as I try to do something complicated! :)  I would like to setup JRiver on my PC to be both my source of movies and music, and to take the place of my receiver. I would like to have the ability to rip DVD's and Bluray disk to an external drive, and be able to play them back on either my home theater or dedicated 2 channel setup, while retain the same sound quality as the original disk, in particular, lossless audio codecs commonly found on Bluray disk, such as DolbyTrueHD and to a lessor extent, DTS-MA. I would like to output JRiver from my PC straight into my power amplifiers, and not use a receiver.

It is my understanding that I will need a sound card or external DAC that has at least 6 channels for my 5.1 setup, (well actually 5.4 as I have four subs). Can you guys explain to me how I should go about this? Where in the signal chain does the decoding for the audio codecs (ie: DolbyTrueHD and DTS ect..)? Is that handled in the DAC, or does this require another piece of hardware, and if so, what?  Will a 6 channel external DAC work, and if so, are there any that are under $400? Any advice you guys could help send my way would be great. Thanks!

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: PC audio/home theater with no AVR or pre/pro?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2015, 08:01:44 am »