INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Off topic - iOS opinion wanted  (Read 4387 times)

ferday

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Off topic - iOS opinion wanted
« on: October 14, 2016, 05:19:33 am »

I've been learning intermediate Java for a big work project.  In the process of practicing I've made a host of work related apps, that I'd now like to run in iOS as I supply my employees with iPads

I just got dumped on at stack overflow for asking an opinion there LOL so does anyone have any thoughts on the easiest Java to iOS transfer?

I know it used to be all objective C but it seems swift is coming up fast.  Appreciate any thoughts

blgentry

Re: Off topic - iOS opinion wanted
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2016, 07:26:03 am »

I think you're navigating in strange waters.  Apple traditionally has been very anti-Java.  I'm no expert, but a little bit of research indicates that there *are* Java compilers available for IOS, but they are limited.  Pico Compiler was mentioned in several links I found.

I also found a google tool to convert Java to objective C.  I think it's primarily designed to convert Android apps to IOS apps though.

As you said, Objective C is the traditional core development language for IOS.  My friend who has done a lot of IOS development tells me that Swift is awesome and is definitely the way of the future for IOS development.

I have not yet tried to port my one killer Android app to IOS.  Mainly because my Mac won't run the current version of XCode, because I'm not running the latest OSX, because my machine will probably be slower with the latest Mac OS.

If it were me, I'd probably be looking to port them as native Swift apps.  But, as you may know, porting small apps rarely makes sense, as the effort involved in the port is usually around the same, or higher, than just re-writing the app from scratch in the native language.