INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Issue with Media Network  (Read 2625 times)

TCoz

Issue with Media Network
« on: January 18, 2016, 08:30:07 am »

When trying to access my library from another computer using the access key, the connection times out and fails for an unknown reason. I've also tried to connect to my library using JRemote and the connection also fails.

I'm running media center 19 and have tried resetting the access key and re-installing the program to no avail. I also allowed incoming access to the relevant port in Windows Firewall which had no effect.

I believe it may be something to do with my internet connection, namely I'm a student and use the university's public wifi, eduroam. I didn't encounter this problem when using my home wi-fi so I'm guessing that's where the problem lies.

Attached are the connection summary and server response given by JRemote when trying to add the server.

Any help would be much appreciated,

Tom

Vocalpoint

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Issue with Media Network
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2016, 08:49:55 am »

When trying to access my library from another computer using the access key, the connection times out and fails for an unknown reason. I've also tried to connect to my library using JRemote and the connection also fails.

I stopped using the "access key" method long ago. I now exclusively connect to my media server via IP only. Seems to never let me down.

VP

TCoz

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2016, 01:44:17 pm »

Yeah I've tried that too but it still gives the "timed out" error message. It's quite frustrating because I've spent £8 on JRemote which is now effectively useless.  :'(
Thanks for the suggestion though.

glynor

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2016, 02:23:10 pm »

The Access Key system is used to work around the facts that most people: