INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie here Step by Step instructions needed  (Read 2063 times)

bracurrie

Newbie here Step by Step instructions needed
« on: November 16, 2015, 05:32:52 pm »

Just trying to use JRiver MC on trial basis today for the first time.
Can't quite get the hang of how to configure a multi-channel active crossover setup for my bi-amped 2 speaker system.
Also don't understand the downmixing terms/concept. I am trying to route two channels for bass using a 200Hz 3rd order filter and two channels for high end using 400Hz 1st order filter. (It's an odd setup but it works for my Open baffle two-way speakers.
My audio interface is an Apogee Quartet.
Thanks ahead for any help.
Brad

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: Newbie here Step by Step instructions needed
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2015, 05:50:01 pm »

We may need a little more info about your setup, but I also run bi-amped speakers with JRiver so I can help from firsthand experience.

A few thoughts to get started:  the key to the downmixing settings is that you'll need to use one of the "x channel in a y channel container" settings.  In those settings the "x" is the mixing target, the "y" is the total number of channels available for mixing and routing.  So, for example if you had a pair of 4-way quad-amped mains, you'd want "2 channel in a 7.1 channel container"; a stereo mixing target, but 8 channels available for mixing and routing.  The only "catch" to be aware of is that the 2.1 setting is actually "2.1 in a 5.1 channel container" for compatibility reasons, but isn't labeled that way.