INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Poll

Is Remote Access to MC Possible with iphone/ipad by using JRemote?

Accessing MC through iphone
- 0 (0%)
JRemote intended use?
- 0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Remote Access via iPhone  (Read 3532 times)

maf3187

• Recent member
Remote Access via iPhone
« on: April 18, 2016, 01:52:39 pm »

I'm just getting started with MC and have also downloaded the App for JRemote on my iPhone.  I imagined using the JRemote as a way to access my music on MC remotely, ideally connected to my car stereo via iphone.  Is this possible or is that the intended use for JRemote?  I've been able to add my MC as a server for JRemote, but it seems to only work as a remote control for controlling MC on my PC?  And I'm unable to play music through my mobile device (iphone).  If anyone could give me guidance on if mobile access is possible and what additional steps I need to complete to make this happen - that would be most appreciated!

Arindelle

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Remote Access via iPhone
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2016, 02:23:09 pm »

Sure its possible, but I'm not writing the guide on a step-by-step basis for your router. :)

You need to be able to know how to open your router ports to X (52199 is the default. look for "Port Fowarding" on your routers menu). You have to allow external access too for all firewalls you have/may have  installed. Once you allow external access to JRiver media server (from the web), you can then stream it to your iphone/ipad by choosing "This Device" where you choose playback zones (on a phone thats on the bottom when you open settings; on an ipad its always visible, bottom left -- its sort of a circle within a circle icon.

As long as you know how to configure a router, its pretty easy. To use it as a controller on your local network you probably used the DHCP setting for your IP addresses already.