INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 3D video playback, is a new standard library field desirable ?  (Read 3159 times)

rudyrednose

• Galactic Citizen
  • nothing more to say...

Greetings,
First, a very big thank you to the team and the dedicated users for the new 3D playback capability.

I was wondering if a new standard library field would be appropriate, with the introduction of 3D frame packed playback.

I have been using JR to play my 3D movies for close to 2 years,  either directly (SBS, OU) or through auto-launching Stereoscopic Player (for frame packed MVC, when I have a mk3d extension).  Most of my movies I ripped to the mkv format, using MakeMKV, but I also have several downloaded SBS/OU.

I use a custom library field to manage my views, but thought that it may be useful to have everybody on the same foot (or eye) and have a standard library field dedicated to 3D playback info.

So I want to start discussions on the appropriateness of a 3D dedicated standard library field, and what could be its format.  (disclaimer: I am not an expert on 3D, just a simple user.  Something might already be in the works.)

Currently, I have defined a custom field [3D Info]:
Up to now, I have used [3D Info] and the .mk3d file extensions in the following way:

- framed packed MKV: changed file extension to .mk3d (to auto launch Stereoscopic player from MC) and [3D Info]="3D FP"
- SBS MKV: standard .mkv extension and [3D Info]="3D SBS"
- OU MKV: standard .mkv extension and [3D Info]="3D OU"

And I have views for:
- 2D ([3D Info] does not starts with "3D")
- 3D ([3D Info] starts with "3D")
- 3D original quality, frame packed ([3D Info] starts with "3D FP")

Knowing what is the first eye in the stream might prove useful (left or right eye) so an optional L or R might be appended to the previous values, which would yield: