INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: If I can figure out what causes Windows to hang, I'd like to buy it.  (Read 6139 times)

ITGuy

Hi there,

I'm new to JRiver MC.  I'm running a Windows 10 PC I built for photo editing. 

• ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
  • Intel i5-3570K (unclocked)
  • 16 GB RAM
  • 250GB SSD
  • WD 1=TB HDD's x 2

I picked up a pr. of Audioengine HD6's about a week ago. I luv the sound.    Did an informal ear test between iTunes, VLC Media Center and JRiver.  JRiver wins hands down.
I will be installing an external DAC in a few weeks. 

When I play music for long periods of time with MC, I loose Right-Click or any type of mouse click control over icons on the task bar including the start menu. 
The only way I can get control back is to shut down JRiver and force a soft-boot.

What's unusual as well is that I still have MC functionality except when in mini view especially, the skin is faded.  I'm thinking maybe a driver but have no idea.

My PC is my audio system.  PITA to have to reboot all the time.

RD James

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: If I can figure out what causes Windows to hang, I'd like to buy it.
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2016, 05:03:08 pm »

I had that as a recurring problem with Windows 10 too. Restarting explorer via the task manager fixed it temporarily.
Installing Windows 8.1 again fixed it permanently.

blgentry

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2016, 05:14:45 pm »

If I had to run Windows 10, I'd be looking to automate the solution to this bug (in windows 10) if at all possible.  This solution creates a script that you can double click on, which will restart explorer.exe, which in turn makes the start menu work again.  I'd put it on the desktop *right* above the start menu, so whenever Start didn't work, I'd double click the script to get it working again: