INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie considering to buy MC9  (Read 1896 times)

JcMarin

• nothing more to say...
Newbie considering to buy MC9
« on: August 10, 2003, 07:18:44 pm »

I'm new to Media Center (or Jukebox for that matter) and my evaluation version is going to expire next week, so I need to decide if to buy MC9, but had a couple of questions on licensing (yes I did read the licensing FAQ) and then wanted some feedback from both Developers and user community to understand where MC is going.

I’m currently using MMJB7.5 with DFX in my HTPC for my Music, and use Girder to control things there. So far I like the Music side of the program and could fairly easily switch although I do have some investment in time and money I would be loosing, but I’m considering to switch because of NetRemote; I have been testing NR with MC9 and think it’s by far the best integration/smart remote out there.

So here are my questions and would appreciate some feedback from the experienced users/devs here.

* What does the license cover in terms of upgrades and what is the frequency of upgrades (minor / major)
* What about tech support policies of previous versions? What determines the feature list? User requests is part of the formula?
* What’s in the pipeline for next releases? Where is MC9 going?
* What kind of commitment is there to continue developing debugging new features? (like iPod plug-in for example)

I think the program is already a very good option in terms of music library management and playback but honestly think has still a way to go in other areas like DVD, Video Playback, TV (I currently use programs like Zoom Player, PowerDVD & WinPVR)

Will we see a truly powerful Multi-Media app in the near future? Is it already good enough to use for video/TV besides Audio?

Regards,
_______
JcMarin

BuiltToSpill

• Recent member