INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need help after NAS replacement  (Read 2460 times)

This2ShallPass

• World Citizen
  • "I picked a helluva day to install MC!"
Need help after NAS replacement
« on: May 29, 2016, 02:03:06 pm »

I'm really struggling, after having had to replace my NAS. I have music files backed up, and library backed up, but I can't seem to restore.

I've loaded all old files (in their subdirectory structure identical to the old setup). I've restored the library, but none of the files will play from within MC21. Ironically, if I double-click a file from within Windows File Explorer (I have all music associated with MC), it launches just fine.

Had to use different file folder names on new NAS, and can set new paths in the "File Locations" setting, but when trying to add Library, the old path is stuck (no option to change). I have some experience moving libraries, but this is not working at all. And when I finish fixing THIS problem, I have to fix all my playlists too. I tried the Library tool, rename, move copy, and then choose Update database to point to new location. didn't work.

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Need help after NAS replacement
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2016, 03:57:38 pm »

Had to use different file folder names on new NAS, and can set new paths in the "File Locations" setting, but

The file location settings don't really impact where MC thinks the media files are.

And when I finish fixing THIS problem, I have to fix all my playlists too.

If you did a library restore your playlists are tied to the media file entries.  So, when you fix the problem of not being able to play those files (because MC can't find them), the playlists will automatically be fixed too.  :)

I tried the Library tool, rename, move copy, and then choose Update database to point to new location. didn't work.