INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Thought I found something really cool :(  (Read 2951 times)

lhwidget

• World Citizen
Thought I found something really cool :(
« on: November 19, 2016, 02:12:20 pm »

After playing around, I discovered that COX has removed DRM restrictions on the local stations (they applied it across the board when they implemented the "Going Digital" change, I don't know when they turned DRM off on local stations.)  It was a false alarm, files recorded with DRM in place can't be played by JRiver.  It was playing the non-DRM recordings great.  Sorry for the confusion & any false hopes...

Jay

This post is about Windows Media Center and JRiver Media Center.  When you see WMC, I'm talking about Windows Media Center, JRiver means JRiver's Media Center.  Also, if this is old news, I apologize in advance, I'm new to WMC.  My TVs are connected as monitors to Windows 7 PCs, I still don't have any COX Cable boxes in my house.

I've used JRiver for my CDs and movies since v15.  Back then, Beyond TV was a great TV recorder.  I developed an 8 tuner DVR on a server and used it for about 7 years.  Three HTPCs running JRiver and BTV pulled everything from my server and I had the same programming available everywhere in my house.

This year, COX Cable in Oklahoma City (boo, hiss, they suck and their mommies are all ugly) went "All Digital" which meant several things:
1) All analog signals would be discontinued.
2) All un-encrypted channels would now be encrypted.
3) DRM was applied to ALL channels (local, cable like USA and SYFI, and Premium)

1) Wasn't all bad, the digital versions of the analog channels do look a lot better...
2) Forced me to buy 2 Silicon Dust HD Homerun Cable Card machines. OK, a PITA, but my house network is wired, and I could stash these in the closet with my server.