INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Personnel listing possible?  (Read 1937 times)

MuseChaser

• Recent member
Personnel listing possible?
« on: December 19, 2016, 01:43:58 pm »

I'm pretty sure this isn't supported in metadata yet, but it would be GREAT if it was...

Here's the wish..

As a musician myself, "WHO is playing <insert instrument> on this recording?" is frequently of much more importance than even the title of the track, album, or credited "main" artist.  Being able to consult the CD or vinyl hardcopy is one of the main reasons that I never really fully embraced the convenience of downloaded or networked media.  I'm coming around to the convenience of it, of course, but I find myself still going to the physical media constantly to answer that burning question.. "who IS that great saxophonist?"

IS it possible to embed and display personnel listings of files, so I know WHO the bassist is on a given Miles Davis recording?

Just curious..

Thanks..

Barry

imugli

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Personnel listing possible?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2016, 02:03:20 pm »

I don't know that it's possible out of the box, but you can certainly create your own custom fields to store that kind of information.

KingSparta

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2016, 02:17:01 pm »

as imugli said you can create a custom field

I created "Who Is Playing" Custom Field

Added "Herb Alpert" to that field

modifed "Customize Display" and Display the information by using: "[Name] ([Album]) Who Is Playing [Who Is Playing]"

I have a song now playing, and who is playing is "Hurpet Albert" shown in the now playing window.
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

blgentry

« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2016, 02:28:34 pm »