INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Playlist View  (Read 1867 times)

Gowanus68

Playlist View
« on: January 08, 2017, 03:13:13 pm »

I am just getting started with MC, in the trial period testing the waters for a move from iTunes.  I have what is probably a very basic question.  I have imported to MC two of the libraries that I maintain in iTunes, one for certain genres of classical music & one for jazz.  I have created playlists in the classical library that replicate what is in the corresponding iTunes library  & I have dropped a few albums into two of those playlists, which are then displaying in the playlist as a list of "song" titles.  I want to be able to view them as album cover thumbnails with the name of the artist or the composer below, as they are able to appear in the library display window.  I hope this can be done.  Can someone tell me how?  I just spent a couple of hours trying one way and another to figure it out & now I am at a loss.

Bill

221bBS

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Playlist View
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2017, 07:42:17 am »

View > Add View > Add Library View

In the "Add Library View..." window, click "Albums", In the "Name:" field, enter the name of the view, "Location:" field should be set to Audio (most likely).

Before going any further, you may want to make a custom field to group albums better. Press CTRL+O or Tools Option, click Library & Folders > ... Manage Library Fields ... You need to figure out how you want to group your albums. Some options

Year: Album by Album Artist
Year: Album Artist - Album
Album Artist - Album
Album Artist - Album (Year)

In the new window, Click "Add New Field" Button, name your new field. Click the Calculate data button and fill in with an expression (if you need help, just ask) to group your albums.

Year: Album by Album Artist
Code: [Select]
[Year]: [Album] by [Album Artist]