INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Windows 10 activity causes MC23 to pause playback  (Read 2168 times)

jphilpit

• Recent member
Windows 10 activity causes MC23 to pause playback
« on: October 27, 2017, 10:22:10 am »

My MC23 files sit on an external USB 3.0 drive and they play perfectly to a USB-connected digital pre-amplifier most of the time. But sometimes something I do on the PC causes a brief pause, usually 1 second or less. This activity might be just using the mouse, where I occasionally see the mouse cursor get stuck for the same amount of time that the music pauses. The pause might also occur when I start up a new program, but that's less often.

I used to be a Window programmer before I retired, so I know that the OS prioritizes all running applications for whose requests get processed first during a time of high demand. Is there anything I can do to lessen the frequency of these pauses, whether that involves changing MC's priority or anything else? These pauses are my only annoyance with MC at this point. Otherwise, it is perhaps my favorite program of all time.

~OHM~

• Citizen of the Universe
  • "I Don't Play The Music The Music Plays Me"
Re: Windows 10 activity causes MC23 to pause playback
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2017, 10:29:59 am »

I think it's a windows thing and not MC....as you don't mention what your windows 10 machine is running on I can only guess. but a weak machine would certainly cause such disturbance. You can set windows to decide what priorities should be
“I've Reached A Turning Point In My Life. I Now Realize I Have More Yesterdays Then Tomorrows”

jphilpit

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2017, 04:56:32 pm »