INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta  (Read 3251 times)

F Ribeiro

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • If it isn't broken don't fix it.

I don't like to have Windows task schedulers to kill and restart explorer each 20 minutes to solve the bug (or any other kind of schedulers running in the background).
So, I wrote a simple and tiny app to restart explorer, which reset the start menu to normal operation.
You can put it on your task bar or in the desktop and run only when you need.
Sometimes (not often) I need to kill all Media Center processes.
Specialy wen we get the error message in attachment (click over the picture in attachment).
So, I put an option to Kill all media center processes.

Lines of code that matters:
---------------------------

 Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click

        If Me.CheckBox1.Checked = True Then
            Dim arrProcess() As Process = System.Diagnostics.Process.GetProcessesByName("explorer")
            For Each p As Process In arrProcess
                p.Kill()
                p.WaitForExit()
            Next
        End If

        If Me.CheckBox2.Checked = True Then
            Dim arrProcess() As Process = System.Diagnostics.Process.GetProcessesByName("Media Center 23")
            For Each p As Process In arrProcess
                p.Kill()
                p.WaitForExit()
            Next
        End If
        If Me.CheckBox3.Checked = True Then
            Close()
        End If
    End Sub
 


Logged
JRiver Media Center 25 PC and MAC | PC: Dell Latitude E5250 - Windows 10 Pro | MAC: Mac Mini late 2014 - Mojave | Amp: Classe CAP-2100 | CD Player: Meridian G08.2 | DAC: Naim DAC V1 | Turntable: Linn Axis, Akito tonearm, Adikt MM | Loudspeakers: ProAc Response D28 | Cables: Transparent, Nordost | Server: Synology DS216 Play Raid 1 |

~OHM~

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1825
  • "I Don't Play The Music The Music Plays Me"
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2018, 02:03:06 pm »

just out of curiosity did you read the pop up and fix the issue? thus not needing a special app...I don't think it's a bug but I'm not a guru.

I don't know you, you have what 10-12 posts. I would never download something and install it from a unknown source....really are you kidding me!
Logged
“I've Reached A Turning Point In My Life. I Now Realize I Have More Yesterdays Then Tomorrows”

d8lock

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2018, 03:27:22 am »

I'm on the 30 day trial, and am leaning towards picking it up.  I do have one problem that keeps coming up.  After watching a few videos from the library, and switching the MC app from left to right monitor (dual monitor setup), the Start button will stop working.  The action center is also unresponsive.  A reboot fixes this, but I was hoping there was a few settings I could change. 
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7390
  • The color of Spring...
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/256GB NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | iFi ZEN DAC 3 | Edifier R2000DB Bookshelf Speakers | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones

CountryBumkin

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2018, 05:16:30 am »

I'm on the 30 day trial, and am leaning towards picking it up.  I do have one problem that keeps coming up.  After watching a few videos from the library, and switching the MC app from left to right monitor (dual monitor setup), the Start button will stop working.  The action center is also unresponsive.  A reboot fixes this, but I was hoping there was a few settings I could change.


You can open Task Manager (Ctrl+Alt+Del) and just restart Windows Explorer. No need to reboot computer.

Logged

RD James

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1871
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2018, 11:20:18 am »

Do you have Windows completely up-to-date?
If you run "winver" it should be Version 1709 (OS Build 16299.251)
It's not been completely eliminated yet, but it's rare that I encounter this now.
Logged

DJLegba

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2018, 11:31:46 am »

Do you have Windows completely up-to-date?
If you run "winver" it should be Version 1709 (OS Build 16299.251)
It's not been completely eliminated yet, but it's rare that I encounter this now.

That's the version I have (new install but fully updated). I'm using MC for audio only on this PC and I see this problem all the time. It's a headless NUC dedicated to MC so the Start button bug isn't an issue for me, but it's definitely there.
Logged

Vocalpoint

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2004
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2018, 02:41:30 pm »

It's not been completely eliminated yet, but it's rare that I encounter this now.

I thought I had this beat back over the Xmas break but it's back. I have been running 1709 (as in inplace upgrade to 1607 for about three months now)

I have seen the Start menu freeze out at least a half dozen times in the last week. Always when MC is running. Made an interesting observance on one of the freezes. After I saw the Start menu freeze - I purposely shut MC down and then left the machine alone for about a half hour.

When I came back - I immediately tried the Start menu and it worked fine.

So whatever MC is doing - it seems to not do it after a period of time. How long is unknown. But I do know that if you get a freeze, kill MC and try the start menu immediately after the shutdown - it still will not work. But leave it for a while (how long is unknown) and the start menu will come back...

Again - only when MC is in the picture does this happen.

VP
Logged

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2018, 03:10:33 pm »

The crappy Windows bug has seemed to come back recently. After the Fall Creators Windows Update I hadn't seen it again in a LONG time, but it seems to have returned just very recently (the past month or so).

I can say I only have personally seen it when MC is left running, paused or otherwise idle but open, and the machine sleeps the display. After this, there's a very good chance I'll have to restart the Windows Explorer process to get the start button working again.
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

Vocalpoint

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2004
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2018, 03:39:33 pm »

The crappy Windows bug has seemed to come back recently. After the Fall Creators Windows Update I hadn't seen it again in a LONG time, but it seems to have returned just very recently (the past month or so).

I concur. Something has changed either within Windows (Recent Win update?) or within MC itself.

I can say I only have personally seen it when MC is left running, paused or otherwise idle but open, and the machine sleeps the display. After this, there's a very good chance I'll have to restart the Windows Explorer process to get the start button working again.

Interesting - never made the connection about the display. Over here - I never sleep the display - but it does go to screen saver mode after 30 mins or so. And I still see the menu freeze after a period of time.

VP
Logged

F Ribeiro

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • If it isn't broken don't fix it.
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2018, 06:22:53 am »

I'm on the 30 day trial, and am leaning towards picking it up.  I do have one problem that keeps coming up.  After watching a few videos from the library, and switching the MC app from left to right monitor (dual monitor setup), the Start button will stop working.  The action center is also unresponsive.  A reboot fixes this, but I was hoping there was a few settings I could change.

Or you can save the attached app to your pc and put a link in the task bar.
Whenever it happens, just run the app from the task bar and press enter (in default option "restart explorer").
Your start menu should be back to normal.

If you get some alert from Windows, you can ignore it.
It´s a simple app in Microsoft .NET and the code that matters is:

Public Class Form1
    Private Sub Form1_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
        For Each OneProcess As Process In Process.GetProcesses
            Me.ListBox1.Items.Add(OneProcess.ProcessName)
        Next
        ListBox1.Sorted = True
        Me.Button1.Select()
    End Sub

    Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click

        If Me.CheckBox1.Checked = True Then
            Dim arrProcess() As Process = System.Diagnostics.Process.GetProcessesByName("explorer")
            For Each p As Process In arrProcess
                p.Kill()
                p.WaitForExit()
            Next
        End If

        If Me.CheckBox2.Checked = True Then
            Dim arrProcess() As Process = System.Diagnostics.Process.GetProcessesByName("Media Center 23")
            For Each p As Process In arrProcess
                p.Kill()
                p.WaitForExit()
            Next
        End If

        If Me.CheckBox4.Checked = True Then
            Dim curItem As String = ListBox1.SelectedItem.ToString()
            Dim arrProcess() As Process = System.Diagnostics.Process.GetProcessesByName(curItem)

            Dim rYesNo As String = MsgBox("Kill process " & curItem & " ?", vbOKCancel, "ATTENTION!")

            For Each p As Process In arrProcess
                If p.HasExited <> True Then
                    p.Kill()
                    p.WaitForExit()
                End If
            Next
        End If

        If Me.CheckBox3.Checked = True Then
            Close()
        End If
    End Sub

    Private Sub GroupBox1_Enter(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles GroupBox1.Enter

    End Sub

    Private Sub Button2_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Button2.Click
        Close()
    End Sub

    Private Sub Timer1_Tick(sender As Object, e As EventArgs)

    End Sub
End Class


Logged
JRiver Media Center 25 PC and MAC | PC: Dell Latitude E5250 - Windows 10 Pro | MAC: Mac Mini late 2014 - Mojave | Amp: Classe CAP-2100 | CD Player: Meridian G08.2 | DAC: Naim DAC V1 | Turntable: Linn Axis, Akito tonearm, Adikt MM | Loudspeakers: ProAc Response D28 | Cables: Transparent, Nordost | Server: Synology DS216 Play Raid 1 |

CountryBumkin

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2018, 10:33:52 am »

And I still see the menu freeze after a period of time.

VP

This happens here too. I've posted about it before but no solution. What I've seen during the eventual shutdown and restart of MC, is a "Direct3D error" message popup just as MC closes (like it was hidden behind MC window).
Logged

B4Unyu

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2018, 05:03:14 pm »

about restarting windows explorer process...

right click task manager from your desktop search results and pin it to the taskbar, restart the Windows Explorer process or whatever from there.
Logged

F Ribeiro

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • If it isn't broken don't fix it.
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2018, 10:12:46 am »

just out of curiosity did you read the pop up and fix the issue? thus not needing a special app...I don't think it's a bug but I'm not a guru.

I don't know you, you have what 10-12 posts. I would never download something and install it from a unknown source....really are you kidding me!

Well,

You can have the source code as a Microsoft Visual Studio Project if you want to compile it (attached).
This way you can check the code. It's yours.

I am a JRiver fan since early versions, I love music and I certainly appreciate the extraordinary work the team at JRiver have been doing all over the years.

Besides, I use to follow the forum in a regular basis.
I don't post a lot because English is not my mother language

This is the more honest and transparent I can be (giving you the code).

I certainly am not kidding you, because if you don't know me, it means I don't know you.

Any way, I understand and respect your point of view.

Stay safe,

Fernando Ribeiro
Portugal
Logged
JRiver Media Center 25 PC and MAC | PC: Dell Latitude E5250 - Windows 10 Pro | MAC: Mac Mini late 2014 - Mojave | Amp: Classe CAP-2100 | CD Player: Meridian G08.2 | DAC: Naim DAC V1 | Turntable: Linn Axis, Akito tonearm, Adikt MM | Loudspeakers: ProAc Response D28 | Cables: Transparent, Nordost | Server: Synology DS216 Play Raid 1 |

~OHM~

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1825
  • "I Don't Play The Music The Music Plays Me"
Re: Windows start menu bug - simple app to reset start menu with exta
« Reply #15 on: March 17, 2018, 01:50:23 pm »

Acknowledged

Patrick
Logged
“I've Reached A Turning Point In My Life. I Now Realize I Have More Yesterdays Then Tomorrows”
Pages: [1]   Go Up