INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Gizmo on Android maxes out my CPU  (Read 1233 times)

Stonehenge

• Recent member
Gizmo on Android maxes out my CPU
« on: April 27, 2018, 07:42:09 pm »

I finally have my JMC configured and set up the way I think I want it, for the time being.  So I was checking out other features and found out that I can use MC to stream music and tv shows to my android phone.  Great!

So, following the directions in the Wiki of how to setup the Media Server, and how to install Gizmo on my phone, I was ready to give it a try.

I have to say that I'm really impressed, but then again, I'm new to all this media center stuff, and streaming stuff...  Anyways, the thing is, I noticed that when I'm streaming a tv show to my phone, my computer's i5-2400 quad core is maxed out! It's an older cpu, but still very capable. It almost never gets maxed out, not even on the newest demanding games I run...

So, all that to say this.....  Is this normal behavior for JMC when streaming to a android phone via Gizmo?  Or, which is more likely, did I miss a configuration when setting up the server that I can check to bring down my cpu usage.  It just doesn't seem like my cpu should be working that hard to stream a show.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Gizmo on Android maxes out my CPU
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2018, 08:07:27 pm »

You could try a different conversion setting.

Stonehenge

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2018, 09:25:26 pm »

If you are talking about Options/Media Network/Advanced/Client Options/Video Conversion

Mine is checked to 'Original'   

So, if that is the section you are talking about, might you give me a bit more direction here?  There are only about 30 different choices to make other than 'Original', and I have no idea what any of them mean??

~OHM~