INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [24.0.41; Query] System Volume versus Internal Volume  (Read 875 times)

Goatshade

• Citizen of the Universe
[24.0.41; Query] System Volume versus Internal Volume
« on: July 29, 2018, 03:55:36 am »

Admittedly, I'm not an expert on audio/volume processing and what not so if this seems a very nooby question, I apologise.

I just want to know what the benefit of using the Internal Volume option is and what some of the sub-options do. For example, what should I enter in to the Internal volume reference level? Is the Loudness feature worth it? Can my audio set-up benefit from it in the first place?

My media server HTPC is in my bedroom and doubles as my office PC these days; therefore, I spend equal time sitting in front of it as I do sitting in the living room (I use my Xbox One as the main push client and play-back device there). When I do opt to go to the bedroom and listen to music or some such, I use a pair of Plantronics BackBeat PRO 2 SE's via Bluetooth connection. I am aware of the lossy nature of the standard but it nonetheless beats out my tinny monitor speakers. I currently have no plans to incorporate desktop speakers and tend to visit my bedroom at night anyway; however, the cans do have a standard 3.5mm port I could use instead if I so chose.

I followed the instructions here but the test didn't turn out as expected: Silence/hiss doesn't increase in volume when turning up the volume control on the BackBeat PRO 2 SE's; however, turning up the system volume to 100% afterwards makes it far too loud. Is internal volume supposed to work independent of system volume, or no?

RD James

Re: [24.0.41; Query] System Volume versus Internal Volume
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2018, 04:46:36 am »

Internal volume means that it is being processed by Media Center's audio engine, rather than Windows' (system) volume control.