INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: attn: laptop users  (Read 817 times)

dragyn

attn: laptop users
« on: May 29, 2003, 06:29:48 pm »

I'm looking for a 500Mhz+ laptop that can connect to a lan using a wireless card for my "project".

Anyone know of any sites for cheap/used laptops (besides ebay)?

What kind of laptop are you running? Pro/Cons?

ama_mmmc

• World Citizen
Re: attn: laptop users
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2003, 04:03:41 am »

Not sure what your project is, and can't help you with places to buy, but I can offer some pro's and con's with regard to two brands of laptops that I have been using for the last 6 years.

Dell - Started off my experiences with Dell Laptops.  Great quality, and very durable.  A little more expensive, but seem to be worth it regarding the above.  I slipped on some ice while walking, threw my laptop about 4 feet in the air, (while it was in the standard issue dell bag) and when I turned it on in the morning, the only problem was the latch to keep the lid closed was broken.  No other software or hardware problems.  In addition, I dumped a full Dunkin Donuts (cream and sugar) into the keyboard.  I took out the battery, and hard drive, (only removeable pieces at the time) Tipped it on it's side for about 6 hours, put it all back together, and fired it up.  Only problem was a sticky number key whiched worked itself out in a couple of days. (yes maybe just lucky!)  I believe that Dell puts a plastic sheeting on the inside of their laptops, directly under the keys, in case something gets spilled, to protect the inards, but don't quote me on that.