INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Credits in track info display?  (Read 1198 times)

rn701

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Credits in track info display?
« on: July 07, 2019, 05:20:08 pm »

In some of the dozens of variations of track listings, hovering over the track pops up a credits display that shows artist, composer, players etc.

Is there a way to show this in a Track Info html template display?
Logged

wer

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2640
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2019, 07:32:20 pm »

Not sure what you mean by "HTML template display"...

In Standard mode, you can open the Tag pane and customize what fields show there.  Leave it open and it will repopulate each time you click on a file.

In Theater View, look into "Customize file info panel" in the MC options...

Logged

rn701

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2019, 06:26:24 am »

Not sure what you mean by "HTML template display"...

In Standard mode, you can open the Tag pane and customize what fields show there.  Leave it open and it will repopulate each time you click on a file.

In Theater View, look into "Customize file info panel" in the MC options...

Take a look at Track Info. It is customizable using an html template into which JRiver dynamically inserts variables. I'm wondering if there's a variable for credits.
Logged

blgentry

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8009
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2019, 02:12:49 pm »

Do you mean the [Tooltip] field which customizes the popup text?

If so, there isn't really any documentation of what MC does with that by default.   When you start customizing it, you have to get REALLY custom in order to replicate what's already there. 

Take a look at this post, and others in this thread that will give you some rather large examples and some explanation:

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,99227.msg715658.html#msg715658

If "credits" is some formatting of [Composer], [Conductor], and [People], you can almost certainly replicate it with some expression language magic.  Probably including a bunch of ifs.

But maybe I've misunderstood your question....

Brian.

Brian.
Logged

rn701

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2019, 03:29:33 pm »

Logged

blgentry

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8009
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2019, 04:50:55 pm »

Hmm.  I think "Track Info" is yet another windows only feature.  I don't use MC under windows so I'm not familiar with it.

Good luck with it.

Brian.
Logged

mark_h

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2019, 07:42:19 am »

You can use TrackInfo_Insert(<FIELD>), eg TrackInfo_Insert(BITRATE DISPLAY), to insert any library field into Track Info view HTML.  You will probably need to ensure correct formatting within the HTML using, eg tables.
Logged

lepa

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1971
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2019, 08:15:23 am »

You can use TrackInfo_Insert(<FIELD>), eg TrackInfo_Insert(BITRATE DISPLAY), to insert any library field into Track Info view HTML.  You will probably need to ensure correct formatting within the HTML using, eg tables.
I think TrackInfo_Insert() might be broken or at least I didn't it get output any user created fields last time I tried to do something with track infos. Haven't looked at it awhile though
Logged

mark_h

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2019, 08:20:37 am »

I use TrackInfo_Insert() a lot in my own custom Track Info view... no issues, eg

         <tr>
              <td width="18%" id="theGenre"><strong>Duration:</strong></td>
              <td>TRACKINFO_INSERT_DURATION</td>
              <td id="theGenre" width="18%" valign="Top"><strong>Artists:</strong></td>
            TrackInfo_Insert(artistshtml)

         </tr>
         <tr>
            <td id="theGenre"><strong>Genre:</strong></td>
            <td>TrackInfo_Insert(HTML GENRE)</td>
         </tr>
         <tr>
              <td id="theGenre"><strong>Keywords:</strong></td>
            <td>TrackInfo_Insert(keywords)</td>
         </tr>
           <tr>
            <td id="theGenre"><strong>Last Played:</strong></td>
            <td>TrackInfo_Insert(Played)</td>
         </tr>
         <tr>
            <td id="theGenre"><strong>Album Played:</strong></td>
            <td>TrackInfo_Insert(Album Played Calc) (Last: TrackInfo_Insert(Album Last Played))</td>
         </tr>
Logged

lepa

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1971
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2019, 08:27:04 am »

I use TrackInfo_Insert() a lot in my own custom Track Info view... no issues, eg
Thanks for the template mark_h. I'll bokmark this and try it next time I'll start tackling trackinfos
Logged

rn701

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2019, 12:05:23 pm »

You can use TrackInfo_Insert(<FIELD>), eg TrackInfo_Insert(BITRATE DISPLAY), to insert any library field into Track Info view HTML.  You will probably need to ensure correct formatting within the HTML using, eg tables.

Thanks. Yes, already doing that for some other stuff. I can't seem to figure out what library field/fields has this info. I only recently saw it, thought maybe it was new in MC25. Will dig around some more.
Logged

mark_h

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2019, 12:36:14 pm »

You mean when you can use a direct tag, eg TRACKINFO_INSERT_DURATION, version TrackInfo_Insert()?  Yes, not documented as far as I know - just experiment.  Obviously any user fields will need to use TrackInfo_Insert()
Logged

mark_h

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2019, 12:37:21 pm »

Logged

wer

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2640
Re: Credits in track info display?
« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2019, 07:37:44 pm »

Interesting... I had totally forgotten that feature was there.  Never use it....

Well spotted, Mark.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up