INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Why can MC 26 play video on one PC but not on another?  (Read 1704 times)

haggis999

• Galactic Citizen
Why can MC 26 play video on one PC but not on another?
« on: April 26, 2020, 02:37:16 pm »

I have been using MakeMKV for several years to rip my Blu-rays and a few of my DVDs, but hit a problem today I have never seen before. A DVD rip was completed without any error and the resulting MKV plays fine on my primary Dell workstation. However, when I tried to play it on an OLED TV via my HTPC the picture was totally unsynchronised and kept flashing uncontrollably. Both PCs are running MC 26 under Windows 10.

Previously ripped DVDs and Blu-rays continue to run fine on this HTPC and TV, so I'm struggling to work out the cause of this unexpected problem. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

I don't know if this is an MC or an MakeMKV issue, so will also ask this question on the MakeMKV forum.

tij

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Why can MC 26 play video on one PC but not on another?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2020, 02:56:16 pm »

More details will be useful ... playing using RO Standard or RO HQ? ... video is HD or 4K? ... what video card you are using? ... what’s the frame rate of the movie 23.976 or 60?
HTPC: Win11 Pro, MC: latest 31(64b), NV Driver: v425.31, CPU: i9-12900K, 32GB RAM, GeForce: 2080ti
Screen: LG 2016 E6
NAS: FreeNAS 11.1, SuperMicro SSG-5048R-E1CR36L, E5-1620v4, 64GB ECC RAM, 18xUltrastar He12-SAS3 drives, 2x240GB SSD (OS)

RoderickGI

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2020, 03:30:18 pm »

It is a DVD, so it is more likely to be SD and have some weird interlacing issue or something.

What is the DVD? Search for known issues with it online, or specifically wrt MakeMKV.