INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Comparison between MC and other photo management tools  (Read 1132 times)

carbo

• World Citizen
Comparison between MC and other photo management tools
« on: September 03, 2020, 04:04:08 am »

I have been using MC for years (since 2006!) And am really happy with the way I manage my photos.

Yet in recent weeks I have started to look at what the competition is doing .
Progress in AI particularly seduced me and the promises of a very powerful organization ...
After trying different solutions (ACDSee, IMatch, DigiKam ...) here is my observation:

++
Organization and customization: I am really impressed with the power of MC. Lots of software claim to have powerful filters, but nothing seems to match MC. Bidirectional filters in particular are something that cannot be found anywhere.
There is really nothing so simple and powerful in the competition and I am a little sad that MC is never mentioned as a solution in the specialized forums (dpreview ...)

--
Map Display : This is clearly the feature that I miss the most. Seeing a set of photos on the map, being able to define the gps coordinates of those not geocoded and selecting images directly from the map would in my opinion be THE functionality to develop.

Easily compare several photos: an interesting feature is to be able to simultaneously see several similar photos (up to 4).
The fact in particular that the display is synchronized on the different photos (zoom level) makes it possible to choose the best photo more easily than in MC.

Face Recognition with IA: This is a pretty cool feature offered by many. IMatch notably offers fairly satisfactory results. However, in my opinion, this is not essential, the MC tag system being very fast.

Do you think that adding a cartographic mode as a list view would be possible?

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe