INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cloudplay - FLAC Compression Tag  (Read 335 times)

dennismf

• Recent member
Cloudplay - FLAC Compression Tag
« on: January 17, 2021, 11:37:05 pm »

Today I decided to sign up for Cloudplay. I created a suitable playlist that consisted of 25 flac encoded files.

When I tried to upload them, I received a message telling me that 22 of the flac files did not have FLAC compression!

The three files that were acceptable were all downloaded from HDTracks.  I compared the tags on the files that were accepted and those that were not. It appears that the accepted files had a "Compression" tag set to FLAC. Those that were not accepted had an empty "Compression" tag.

Almost all of the files in my library were encoded using previous versions of MC (I have been using MC for around 15 years so I cannot tell which versions were used)

I did a test encode of two albums from FLAC to FLAC using MC27. One input album was missing the Compression tags and the other had Compression set to FLAC. The output of this test encode had Compression set to FLAC on all files. The current encoder seems to be setting this tag.

The output files are of similar size to the input files. I am certain that all of the input files are flac encoded.

I tried to add the Compression tag through the MC tag panel, however this tag is not editable.

My library contains around 6500 flac files. I could re-encode these, but I am concerned that I will loose the play counts, rating, last played date etc. metadata held in the library.

Is there a safe way to get the Compression tag set correctly without loosing the metadata?   ?

Thanks,
Dennis MF

thecrow

• MC Beta Team
  • Galactic Citizen
Re: Cloudplay - FLAC Compression Tag
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2021, 05:14:56 am »