INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help a dinosaur to upgrade please  (Read 1794 times)

maxxsid

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Help a dinosaur to upgrade please
« on: July 03, 2021, 02:11:47 am »

Hello,
I've been using MC for many years. 22?
Still enjoying it very much.
I was actively participating here a while ago. Not anymore...
I used to upgrade/update my hardware/software quite often. Not anymore...
I am almost 10 years behind now.
My last HTPC build was back in 2012!

Currently running Windows 7 and MC23 (later versions require Windows 10).
Still using Promixis Girder and Harmony One remote control over USBUIRT receiver.

This setup works quite nicely but I feel that I need to upgrade since the hardware might just fail eventually and also I want to use the latest versions of MC.

There's plenty of nice mini PC's on the market which should serve well as HTPC (I have my media on a network storage).

My main concern is the remote control. I mean - the thing with buttons which controls TV, HTPC and others.

Right now I have some elaborate scripts in Girder which help me to control MC and HTPC over Harmony One and USBUIRT.

Is this approach archaic? Can I get away without Girder? I never used MC's remote control features.

Do those mini PC's usually have IR receivers? Intel NUC, for example, does have one, but doesn't list it in its specs...

What is the current paradigm?

Thank you in advance.

Max

rec head

Re: Help a dinosaur to upgrade please
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2021, 05:57:11 am »

I can't be of much help because all my gear is packed up while I work on the room. But I use W10 on an old computer (maybe not quite as old as yours) with a Harmony remote. I have never needed much from my remote and while it can be a PITA to get working it can work.

Is this for audio only?

Dawgincontrol

• MC Beta Team