INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Client / Server MC installation Internet Remote access  (Read 381 times)

David Sydney

• Galactic Citizen
Client / Server MC installation Internet Remote access
« on: September 04, 2021, 08:19:43 am »

Although I have been running MC for several years, I tried to setup some thing new today. I have a new personal laptop that I use for work for note taking etc. and I just installed MC28 on there (client) as well as my main home PC (server). For non PC clients like mobile phone, I use Gizmo. So I successfully opened the library on the server, and on the client machine according to your wiki. Runs fine, all good so far.

Then I opened up a port/entered port forwarding on my firewall/ router so I could run this client MC28 on the laptop logged back into the Home PC server over the internet. IO tested it out using the laptop on my phone as an wireless hot spot, so I know it's getting through and playing ok. Now to the problem;

When I use this laptop Around the house to control what music is pumping to my DLNA enabled Main receiver I'd like to have the client options in Media Network Options, set to "Don't convert Audio" so that I hear full FLAC, or native file. However when I am logging in through the internet from outside using mobile (cell) phone hotpot, I want audio conversion setup to convert audio to audio from the server to be converted to MP3 high bandwidth (instead of flac) to save bandwidth / Money.