INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: bad dialogue from DVD  (Read 459 times)

romus

• Recent member
bad dialogue from DVD
« on: April 24, 2022, 07:01:02 pm »

I am new to JRiver, on Windows 10 PC.

I came across a problem running  DVDs from within JRiver Media Player, whereby the dialogue is far too low compared to the effects, and it is a hopeless balance to listen to. My initial thought is in how JRiver is downmixing the DVD audio track, but it could just as well be other setting such as in Windows Sonic Surround Sound, or sample rate settings. Video part is fine, set Red October JRVR. Under Encoder, I have the FLAC encoder selected.

If I restart my PC and run the same movie outside of JRiver with VLC Media player, with the same driver settings path (described below) the dialogue audio (dialogue and effects) is nicely balanced.

I have arrived, apart from internally run DVDs with a setup that seems excellent ie all audio, whether run from outside or inside JRiver can have the DSP Studio effects applied:

I load the JRiver Media Centre WDM Driver (a virtual audio driver) at startup, with JRiver also to open at start up.
With in JRiver>Tools>Options> I select the audio driver to my Digital Interface (RME BabyFace Pro). I tried the WASAPI and ASIO options, and the system works well for either. I have been playing eg Netflix in a browser and  music from within JRiver, and both are benefiting from EQ or effects set in the JRiver DPS Studio.