INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Syncing is not working like I expected  (Read 515 times)

Mr Swordfish

• Junior Woodchuck
Syncing is not working like I expected
« on: August 23, 2023, 06:34:00 pm »

I've been fighting with Media Center Syncing for several months now, and I just can't seem to get it to work.

At this point, I am syncing to a folder on the same hard drive as the media files. (Leaving the transfer to the device as another problem to solve)

I rip a new CD.

I add it to a playlist.

I go to the Options menu on the device and tell Media Center to sync the playlist I added the CD to.

I click on "sync now"

And Media Center tells me that the device is fully synchronized.

But the files have not bee copied over to the local directory and the playlist .m3u file has not been updated to include the new CD.

Is there some magic incantation that I need to invoke to make JRiver Sync work like it's supposed to?

Mr Swordfish

• Junior Woodchuck
Re: Syncing is not working like it should
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2023, 06:38:32 pm »

Here's the most recent log file if that helps.

Mr Swordfish

• Junior Woodchuck
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2023, 06:48:14 pm »

A possible issue might be that when I map a local folder as a device and go to Options -> Files, Paths and more  there is no checkbox for Write Custom Playlist Files like there is for an actual physical device.

Conjecture: since I can't tell it to write playlist files it doesn't, and when it goes to sync it looks at the playlist file that has not changed and fails to copy the newly added audio files.  Not sure if this is right, but the lack of that checkbox seems to be a bug.

Mr Swordfish

• Junior Woodchuck
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2023, 12:08:21 pm »

Coming back the following day, I now see the files in Windows Explorer.  Not sure what changed, but they are there now.