INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Expression for cases  (Read 622 times)

Vadomar

• Recent member
Expression for cases
« on: February 19, 2024, 03:22:24 am »

Hello dear community,

unfortunately I am a coding beginner and need your help. I can't get it to work myself. I am trying to display the artists of a classical music album in a calculated field. I have:

[soloist] = Anne-Sophie Mutter
[conductor] = Herbert von Karajan
[orchestra] = Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

I am now looking for a formula that shows me the above information in a separate field [artistcalculated]. It should have the following format:

[artistcalculated] = [soloist], [conductor]: [orchestra]

I can get it to work with this special example, but what if there is no soloist? What if there are soloist and orchestra but no conductor (which can happen especially in old chamber music)? How can I make sure the punctuation is right?
Do I have to use the ifelse-function for this or is there another way?

Thank you very much in advance!

zybex

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Expression for cases
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2024, 04:46:00 am »

There's likely a simpler solution, but here's an ugly one that just checks for all 8 combinations:

Code: [Select]
ifelse(isempty([soloist][conductor][orchestra]),,
isempty([soloist][_conductor]),[orchestra],
isempty([soloist][_orchestra]),[conductor],
isempty([conductor][orchestra]),[soloist],
isempty([soloist]),[conductor]: [orchestra],
isempty([conductor]),[soloist]: [orchestra],
isempty([orchestra]),[soloist]/, [conductor],
1, [soloist]/, [conductor]: [orchestra])

lepa

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2024, 04:48:26 am »

zybex beats me to it but here is couple of solutions anyway

It depends what you want end result to be

Assuming here that there is always orchestra