INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Playback Problems. Can you help?  (Read 4386 times)

Phydeaux

• World Citizen
  • No comment... ;)
Playback Problems. Can you help?
« on: November 12, 2002, 04:38:23 am »

Please take the time to download and listen to this example file to hear what I'm talking about.

I have made a recording (using Windows Sound Recorder) - it sounds exactly accurate and Sound Recorder is not adding any distortion in the recording process. This is an mp3 file (64kbps mono, 467KB) of a minute in length.

I started playing the original track in MJ with no other applications running. At the 20s mark, I launched a low priority disk defrag. I stopped it at 50s. You can hear the difference!!!

These same stutters are heard when screensavers kick in, when launching other applications, updating tags etc.

I have installed the latest drivers from Creative Labs for my SB Live! Value (17Sep2002) to no avail.

I have tried using DirectSound and WaveOut, both with different combinations of bit-depths, including the source depth, and nothing seems to improve the situation. Skip resistance also has no effects.  :'(

I have put a list of MP3's into Windows Media Player and ran the diskdefrag on high priority and experienced no stuttering. To confirm, I also used Winamp3 and have had no playback problems with that either...  :-/

The file is located at [link]http://people.cs.uct.ac.za/~pogilvie/mj/stutter.mp3[/link].

Thank you in advance!  :)
"Evil will always triumph over Good because Good is dumb." -- Spaceballs

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Playback Problems. Can you help?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2002, 05:05:20 am »