INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Text Entry Suggestions  (Read 707 times)

Phydeaux

• World Citizen
  • No comment... ;)
Text Entry Suggestions
« on: October 31, 2002, 02:13:13 am »

Hi Matt,

In another post (I forget which one) you asked for some text-entry feedback -- I'll attempt to give you some suggestions that I would find useful...

I am a manager in a restaurant who has recently got MediaJukebox up and running (version 8 very successfully). I have a large amount of music that needs to be added to the database and ripped onto the computer. My waiting staff is usually responsible for this and have set "quotas" for each shift! The machine is standalone and so online lookups are not posible.

The following problems are ones that I would like to see addressed in one way or another:

- I usually enter in all common aspects of the CD first (album name, year, genre etc.) and then move on to track names and artists. There needs to be a quicker way of entering in all the artists and track names. MJ 8 had the PageDown function which allows you to jump to the next track. However, it forgot which field you were in and so you would have to "Tab" to the correct field, enter in the information, PageDown and "Tab" again... Could a similar function be built into MJ9, but have MJ remember what field it was in? This would save a lot of time!

- Using data already in the database, provide autocompletion for all fields, possibly excluding Track Name and the various number fields -- or make it customisable what MJ autocompletes.