INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trying To Understand How To Use Replay Gain For A Portable Device  (Read 1383 times)

ludwigl

• Recent member
  • Lost... But having a great time!

Hi All,

I'm new to all of this and I'm having a hard time understanding Replay Gain feature and the Help Text is not making it clear enough for my thick skull.

In an attempt to "Volume Level" my music I have "Analyzed" all of my MP3's using MC10 .106 and now have Replay Gain settings of -18.53dB to +9.54dB. When I transfer playlists to my portable they now play too softly. It looks like if I sync and carry the Replay Gain over I can also use the "Adjustment - Fixed" to add a fixed amount to the calculated adjustment and that might bring the volume to a normal level... Assuming I can find the correct adjustment number. Is this correct? Or should I be doing something else to correct this problem?

Thanks in advance for all help.

Lorne

-In Beer there is Strength...
-In Wine there is Wisdom...
-In Water there is BACTERIA!!!

Old German Proverb

ludwigl

• Recent member
Re:Trying To Understand How To Use Replay Gain For A Portable Device
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2004, 09:31:57 am »

Well... I'm getting views but no answers, maybe others also are wondering about this? I started to play a bit and found that this does seem to work. I tried a +10dB adjustment and that brought quite an improvement. On a playlist that had songs with Replay Gain settings ranging from -18.53dB to +9.54dB this was more than enough to allow the volume setting on my iPod to not need to be set to max just to hear the music. I guess I need to play some more to find the perfect setting.

lee269

• Citizen of the Universe
  • sleep eat sleep eat sleep eat
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2004, 12:30:10 pm »

Well, heres an answer, but not a complete one...