INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Your ripping preferences?  (Read 5476 times)

benrad

Your ripping preferences?
« on: March 30, 2004, 11:48:27 pm »

I'm not sure if this has ever been asked here before but I'm just curious as to how everyone rips their files, and to what format.

I've settled on VBR MP3s, after years of going all over the place.
I use MC to rip with external LAME and --alt preset standard to encode.
I'm no expert in these matters, but this is just what I think sounds good.

I've seen people talk about APE, OGG, and WMA, but I've never ventured into those formats?

discuss.

gpvillamil

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Listen to the music...
Re:Your ripping preferences?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2004, 01:14:03 am »

This is a frequently asked question here.

The consensus (I think) is that MP3 VBR using LAME --alt presets is the best option, if disk space matters. The files are reasonably sized, sound good and play everywhere.

If disk space does not matter, then lossless APE or FLAC is the way to go. MC has built-in support for APE (and close ties with the developer) and there is a plugin with pretty complete support for FLAC.

In the future, AAC/MP4 is probably the way to go, but it does not seem to be supported in MC for encoding or tagging (yet).

Sauzee

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2004, 05:31:19 am »

If you want or need to rip at low bit rates then ogg is probably the best format.  

Like mp3 preset standard ogg's bit rate is variable.  However it's much quicker than encoding in mp3 VBR.

Downside of Ogg is that there isn't much hardware support for it.

EpF

« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2004, 04:23:30 pm »

I'm in the process of ripping my whole CD collection, and I'm using Monkey's Audio.  For lossy compression I use Lame --alt-preset standard.

pipsqueak

• "Actually, it's elementary, my dear Dawson!"