INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Opening a form from a plug-in  (Read 2935 times)

dreicher

  • Regular Member
  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • nothing more to say...
Opening a form from a plug-in
« on: December 17, 2003, 11:21:06 am »

I'm trying to show a form from a plug-in, but when I try to open it I get the error: "Non-modal forms cannot be displayed in this host application from an ActiveX DLL, ActiveX Control, or Property Page".

I'm working in VB.

Any ideas on how to make this happen?

Dan
Logged

dreicher

  • Regular Member
  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • nothing more to say...
Re:Opening a form from a plug-in
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2003, 11:43:28 am »

Skip it. I got it.

Dan
Logged

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re:Opening a form from a plug-in
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2003, 12:03:58 pm »

I was just going to post the answer.
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

dreicher

  • Regular Member
  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • nothing more to say...
Re:Opening a form from a plug-in
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2003, 12:16:46 pm »

Thanks for the prompt response. You get the points. :)

Dan
Logged

Michio

  • Regular Member
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re:Opening a form from a plug-in
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2004, 01:58:04 am »

Hello, i have this same problems im trying to load a Form from a UserControl on VB 6, i get
"Run-Tim Error 406

Non-Modal forms cannot be displayed in this host application from an activex dll, activex control, or property page."

now i worked out i could use..

"If App.NonModalAllowed Then
      Form1.Show vbModeless
   Else
      Form1.Show vbModal
End If"

But there s a slight problem when i load the form, i cannot click the user control anymore "UNTIL" the form is closed or unloaded. I need to be able yto because i will be using it as a Chat Window.. So i will need to open it several times using index's if someone can help me to make it show and still be able to click the UserControl i will me much apprciated.

Michio
Logged

Brian149

  • Regular Member
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re:Opening a form from a plug-in
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2004, 09:44:00 am »

Would you mind posting the answer how you "got it"? I am trying to do something similiar creating a plug-in for ApplicationXtender. I want to create a "Floater" window that will always stay above AX. I am creating a VB6 ActiveX DLL. I get this same error.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up