INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need some advice regarding encoding.  (Read 1439 times)

Krazykanuck

• Galactic Citizen
Need some advice regarding encoding.
« on: October 18, 2004, 10:00:14 am »

I am new to ripping and encoding and looking for some advice on what formats I should be using.
I would like to make sure that the files are in a high enough quality format so that they sound good when played through my stereo and can then be downconverted later if necessary for loading onto portable devices.
I realize that the answer to the above is very subjective and ultimately is up to me to listen and decide but I was hoping for some guidlines to help me along the process.
The source of the music will be CD's and old LP's that I am currently recording into Wav files. I'm not into downloaded music, at least not yet.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Alex B

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • The Cosmic Bird
Re:Need some advice regarding encoding.
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2004, 10:26:47 am »

If you have enough hard drive space the answer is definitely lossless Monkey's Audio.

If you don't have enough hard drive space the answer is definitely lossless Monkey's Audio.

If you don't already know what lossy format you should use (if any) you should convert (and rip) your files to a lossless format now and decide later what to do. (After you have learned more about the other formats.)
The Cosmic Bird - a triple merger of galaxies: http://eso.org/public/news/eso0755

Krazykanuck

• Galactic Citizen
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2004, 10:37:41 am »

Thanks for the reply.
I have a question regarding the quality setting.
The help file recommends using the normal setting. It seems to indicate that the high and extra high setting only affect the file compression but not the actual musical quality.
Is this correct?

Thanks again.

Alex B