INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DVD menu  (Read 1181 times)

Neville

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • I am the black crow king...
DVD menu
« on: November 09, 2004, 09:08:03 am »

I can't find keyboard shortcut for DVD menu.
It seems that MC doesn't have this shortcut.
I would like to assign button of my remote to go to DVD menu.
Is there some workaround to do this?
Logged

raym

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3583
Re:DVD menu
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2004, 07:24:32 pm »

Quote
I would like to assign button of my remote to go to DVD menu.
So would I... and an assignable button to switch dvd audio streams without having to go back to the DVD Options menu - like on a standard dvd player remote.
Logged
RKM Smart Home - www.rkmsmarthome.com.au
Z-Wave Home Automation

DWAnderson

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • nothing more to say...
Re: DVD menu
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2005, 01:24:50 am »

Bump.

Is there any way to do this. Looking at the MC Commands available thru MJEXTMAN I didn't see any way to do these things.

raym

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3583
Re: DVD menu
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2005, 06:47:40 pm »

In Theater View you have to switch views and use the menus. There's an option there for going back to the menu.  I find this very tedious so I ended up just writing some vb script to automate it for me (via sendKeys) and assigning the script to a button on my remote.

Hope this helps.
Logged
RKM Smart Home - www.rkmsmarthome.com.au
Z-Wave Home Automation

DWAnderson

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • nothing more to say...
Re: DVD menu
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2005, 09:32:56 pm »

In Theater View you have to switch views and use the menus. There's an option there for going back to the menu.  I find this very tedious so I ended up just writing some vb script to automate it for me (via sendKeys) and assigning the script to a button on my remote.

Hope this helps.

Can you provide some more details?

raym

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3583
Re: DVD menu
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2005, 05:44:52 am »

This is a hack but it works. Just save this code into a .vbs file and assign it to a button on your remote.

set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
WshShell.SendKeys "+{F11}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{LEFT}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{LEFT}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{LEFT}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{END}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{UP}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{ENTER}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{UP}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{UP}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{UP}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{UP}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{UP}"
WshShell.SendKeys "{ENTER}"
WshShell.SendKeys "+{F11}"


For it to work, it assumes you're watching in fullscreen from Theater View. All it does is automate the keypresses you would otherwise need to issue in order to get to Theater View's "DVD Menu" option.

Ray.
Logged
RKM Smart Home - www.rkmsmarthome.com.au
Z-Wave Home Automation

DWAnderson

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • nothing more to say...
Re: DVD menu
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2005, 10:49:22 am »

Thanks. That is a bit of a kludge! :)

J River, can we get the ability to access DVD commands via keypress combinations, e.g. Menu, Audio Track, etc. (the things we find on the remote for a stand alone DVD player)?

raym

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3583
Re: DVD menu
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2005, 04:26:16 pm »

Thanks. That is a bit of a kludge! :)

Yes, it ain't  pretty  :)

Quote
J River, can we get the ability to access DVD commands via keypress combinations
   

Logged
RKM Smart Home - www.rkmsmarthome.com.au
Z-Wave Home Automation
Pages: [1]   Go Up