INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Treat albums atomically in Smartlists  (Read 4033 times)

jwc905

• Recent member
Treat albums atomically in Smartlists
« on: July 24, 2005, 10:00:16 am »

Hi All,

I'm new to Media Center, using it as a replacement to the TiVo HMO server as well as with winamp and XMMS, so I think I'm getting my money's worth :)

I love the Smartlist feature and would like to set up two generic kinds:

A vanilla playlist which plays random songs from the entire collection with some rules to make sure things stay interesting.  This part I think I have a handle on.

I would also like to play the tracks from complete albums in order.  I created a list of complete albums, but I want to be able to shuffle the actual albums, I mean who wants to listen to their collection in alphabetical order?  Is there a way to do this directly using the album name or perhaps using a playlist which pulls in playlists of the actual albums?

Thanks,
Jeff

marko

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Treat albums atomically in Smartlists
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2005, 02:45:42 pm »

how about..

[media type]=audio [track #]==1 ~sort=[random] ~a

if you want to limit the number of albums returned, you would add the limiter before ~a, so,

[media type]=audio [track #]==1 ~sort=[random] ~n=5 ~a

would return 5 random albums.

You could also play around with ~limit ...

[media type]=audio ~limit=6,-1,[album]

would return 6 random albums, but the list sorting under "customise current view" might require some attention.

-marko.

jwc905

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2005, 03:19:52 pm »

Works Great!  Thanks!  :D

Already have about 5 variations: not recently played, top rated, genre, etc...  The "language" makes so much more sense once you have a few examples.