INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Input SDK broken?  (Read 2978 times)

scthom

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
Input SDK broken?
« on: February 05, 2006, 10:49:44 am »

In my input (decoder) plugin, I use the following to call the base-class (MJInputSource, part of the SDK):

Code: [Select]
long nRetVal = CMJInputSource::Open(pFilename);
if (nRetVal != 0) return nRetVal;

Inside the MJInputSource, it does the following to create a reader interface and then open the file.

Code: [Select]
m_pReader = GetGeneralReader(pFilename);

if (m_pReader == NULL) { return -1; }
if (m_pReader->Open() == FALSE) { return -1; }

The GetGeneralReader works fine (it loads the JRReader.dll from the Media Center installation), but the Open fails with the following error:

Code: [Select]
Run-Time Check Failure #0 - The value of ESP was not properly saved across a function call.  This is usually a result of calling a function declared with one calling convention with a function pointer declared with a different calling convention.
It appears this is a mismatch between the JRReader.lib provided in the SDK and the JRReader.dll provided with Media Center.  In any case, since I am calling the base class and the base class is failing, the Input SDK is broken.

My Input SDK is the most recent version posted on the developer pages (I downloaded again to be certain), with files dated in September, 2005.  My JRReader.dll is 11.0.123 (from Media Center 11.1.113) and is dated 12/23/2005.

I compile with the __cdecl calling convention normally; when I tried using __stdcall, the base-class instead bombs with the same error at the pFunction function call inside the GetGeneralReader function:

Code: [Select]
IGeneralReader * pReader = NULL;
if (g_dllReader.GetLibrary() != NULL)
{
GetGeneralReaderFunc pFunction = (GetGeneralReaderFunc) ::GetProcAddress(g_dllReader.GetLibrary(), "GetGeneralReader");
if (pFunction)
pReader = pFunction(pResourceName, JRREADER_TYPE_LOCAL_OR_INTERNET);
}
Logged

John Gateley

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4957
  • Nice haircut
Re: Input SDK broken?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2006, 02:31:48 pm »

Hi, I just uploaded a new version of the SDK, give that a try...

j

scthom

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
Re: Input SDK broken?
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2006, 09:34:48 pm »

Hi, I just uploaded a new version of the SDK, give that a try...

John, I downloaded the link from the dev page, but the files are the same date and time as the previous one.  Just to be sure I re-compiled and tested but it still fails.  I think the link or file didn't get updated correctly.
Logged

John Gateley

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4957
  • Nice haircut
Re: Input SDK broken?
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2006, 09:20:36 am »

Sorry, I uploaded it to the wrong machine. It's now in the right place...

j

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Input SDK broken?
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2006, 11:49:09 am »

Wrong turn at the Coffee Machine

 ;D
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

scthom

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
Re: Input SDK broken?
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2006, 09:07:14 pm »

That works a little better  :)

The files have new dates, and the debugger doesn't choke on it.

Thanks!
Logged

nickharambee

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • doh!
Re: Input SDK broken?
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2006, 02:11:54 am »

hello

could someone please tell me when i am likely to be able to play flac files over a network on clients, because at the moment i need to convert to ogg or mp3

thanks

nick
Logged

sdawson

  • Guest
Re: Input SDK broken?
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2006, 05:34:07 am »

That's what Scott is working on now, and why he's asking these questions in this thread - he needs to rejig some of the code and it should work.
Logged

nickharambee

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • doh!
Re: Input SDK broken?
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2006, 07:14:09 am »

great!!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up