INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Three column view / movable elements?  (Read 4121 times)

mountainfair

• Recent member
Three column view / movable elements?
« on: February 20, 2006, 09:26:58 pm »

I am brand new to MC, and so I dont know if this is a question of how to do this or a feature request.  I searched the forums but didnt find any recent posts on this.

First, I would just like to say that I have tried all of the audio/mp3 programs out there that I could over that last two months, and MC is the best.  Few others even come close. 

To make MC even better, I would like to see a three column view, where the left colum was the navigation (as it is now), the middle column is the browser/file list and the right column is the now playing. 

EDIT:

Here is a photoshop'd image of what I would consider the ideal layout (with each element movable, scalable, interchangeable, closable, minimizable):

Larger version:

http://www.dreamthefuture.org/forward/misc/jriver-media-center-ideal-lg.jpg

/EDIT

I have been playing with the program and options / split view for a while and cant figure out how to do this, or how to rearrange the various elements of the program on the screen.   

It doesnt seem possible to choose and move the elements around the screen, but this would be a great feature.

Several other programs that I have tried out do this, but they dont come close to MC in other areas (particularly browsing and thumbnails and flexibility).  Media monkey is very flexible in enabling you to choose and move elements around, but doesnt support thumbnails, and doesnt have the flexibility or skins or support for other media that MC does.

Here is a screen shot of one of the programs that I tried that has a three column view (not exactly what I describe, but close, and this program doesnt let you move the elements around like others):