INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: VBR File Size Estimates WAY off  (Read 1695 times)

eCo

• Recent member
VBR File Size Estimates WAY off
« on: August 13, 2006, 04:12:48 pm »

Hi all,

I've done a pretty exhaustive search, but haven't seen anything that addresses this issue directly.

I have a 1 Gig iRiver iFP-799 player, and am running MC v. 11.1.183.  I have a large FLAC library and am forcing a conversion to the device for both size and compatibility.  I'm a bit of a music quality nut and want to squeeze as much sound at the lower bit rates as I can, so VBR is my preferred format.

I went to a lot of trouble setting up nested smartlists that serve up a nice mix of albums/tracks.  Since I'm new to MC, this took more than a little education.  Fortunately, a lot of great help was to be had on the other board here. ;D

I then set out to have it generate about 1 Gig worth of material post-transcribing the formats.  I limited the smartlist to overall playing duration (e.g. 900 minutes) as that seemed to me to provide the best estimate of overall file size (at a specific bitrate).  This number was arrived at emprically by watching the iRiver device storage availability in the device view.

When I sync'ed the device, I was amazed to discover that instead of having the 30 MB or so of the predicted excess capacity, I had in fact about 400 MB!  This happened regardless of whether I picked the MP3 or WMA codecs.  It also didn't seem to vary much with music selection (perhaps because the smartlist generates a varied mix of rock, folk, and jazz).  Because MC will not allow me to sync if the smarlist estimate is even 1 MB above the capacity of the device, I effectively can't use that beautiful smartlist I worked so hard on.