INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Replace Master usage question...  (Read 4404 times)

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Replace Master usage question...
« on: August 22, 2006, 03:05:49 am »

Good morning King, once again I have a large list of image files that need their filenames 'massaged'...

What I need, is to be able to search from rear (I would ask it to find the file extension) then replace everything to the left of found item with my text string, which would include a [######] counter.

I did this with a previous version using two steps, the second being a 'left trim' task. What I find now, is that if I set the left trim figure high, any files that don't have enough characters to meet the trim figure are skipped entirely, ie. nothing is trimmed, rather than, not enough to meet trim requirements, so let's trim what we can.

If any of that makes any sense?
I'm using v0.0.23

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2006, 03:26:47 am »

interesting... (keep in mind I'm only working with [filename (name)] here)

I've just found that the tags are not saved untill I leave the plugin interface. This means i can make temporary illegal filenames.

'right trim' doesn't appear to mind if I set the trim figure high. It's removing everything. The tag is not being saved, but the info is retained by the plugin, so I can string the tasks together to get to where I want to be.

feels a bit scary though. is this how it's supposed to be working?

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2006, 03:46:47 am »

.....
as the 'events' list grows, so the plugin becomes slower and slower....

(I'm working on 860 files atm)

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2006, 08:52:14 am »

Quote
If any of that makes any sense?

No, I am not clear your your expecting

Find What: ?

Old filename: ?

New Filename: ?
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2006, 09:00:30 am »

Quote
I've just found that the tags are not saved untill I leave the plugin interface.

Actually The plugin submits the changes to MC and mc Keeps Track Of The Changes.

Quote
This means i can make temporary illegal filenames.
maybe to a point but the plug-in checks for illegal chrs also
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2006, 12:42:13 pm »

No, I am not clear your your expecting

Find What: ?

Old filename: ?

New Filename: ?

I want to find everything to the left of ".png" (or whatever the file extender may be) and replace it with my text string.

Actually The plugin submits the changes to MC and mc Keeps Track Of The Changes.
Interesting. In that case, MC does not make any changes to the filename until the plugin interface is closed.

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2006, 01:08:41 pm »

No, I am not clear your your expecting

Find What: "."
Text Item: "JoeBlow"

Old filename: ThisIsMyFileName.jpg

New Filename: JoeBlow.jpg
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2006, 01:21:45 pm »

exactly that.

"Old filename" contains no constants between files, they are all completely different.

"Text Item" would be "JoeBlow_[######]"

I think we're on the same page now. Do you think it's possible?


Edit:
DOH!
It's just occurred to me that currently, the best way to achieve this would be to create a new field in MC's library for RM to populate, then go back to MC and rename from properties.
I got stuck in a rut trying to do it all from the RM interface. You know, blinkers on, head down and all that :)
If doing it this way is less hassle than it would be to get RM to do it all, just delete this thread.

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2006, 01:51:07 pm »

well actually I added 2 new options just now to do that.

But it is not for MC11.1

Send Me A E-Mail (Yours Is Hidden) And When I Have A Build I Will Give You A Link To It.
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2006, 02:10:25 pm »

done.

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2006, 03:04:11 pm »

I sent you a link that adds 2 options

Replace All Before Or All After With "Text Item" And you Can Still Use Rules In Text Item
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2006, 03:31:10 pm »

d'loaded.
time for work now though. will play and report in the morning.

thanks again.

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2006, 04:31:50 pm »

by the way

Code: [Select]
boolean SaveToTag()

Description: Forces Media Center to save the file information to the tag.
Return Value: 0 - failed, 1 - success.

Will force a save, the problem with this is it is slower than if you let MC do it when you exit. Because each time MC will save the complete media file (if mp3) due to the id3v2 tag.

if you let mc do it when you exit then MC will do it in the background
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2006, 05:27:23 pm »

d'loaded.
time for work now though. will play and report in the morning.

thanks again.


Any Luck?
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #14 on: August 25, 2006, 01:31:29 am »

worked fine on a single file. like a dream....

My next list is almost shuffled, then I'll be doing a batch of around 300 files....

I promise I'll let you know how it goes. I will not forget :)

================

OK, all done. 246 files by the time I'd finished messing around, all renamed sequentially. beautiful. This is one seriously handy plugin. Thank you for creating it and sharing it.

Only small problem it has left for me is time. As the list gets longer, the plugin gets slower.
It absolutely flies into the 100+ area, then the slowdown becomes quite noticeable, and by the time it gets to the 300's and onwards, it's really slow.
Perhaps an option to turn off event logging would help that?

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #15 on: August 25, 2006, 07:16:32 am »

Quote
As the list gets longer, the plugin gets slower.

There is nothing in the plug-in that should make it slow down.

maybe MC holding data as overhead makes it slowdown, not sure
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #16 on: August 25, 2006, 01:38:19 pm »

Not sure myself either...
If I clear the event list, everything speeds up again.

jgreen

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2419
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #17 on: August 25, 2006, 02:38:26 pm »

King--

v.23 kind of acted like it would reach the end of cached files, and then slow down.  It would chug along quite fat, get to a certain point, and and take it down a notch.
Logged

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2006, 02:41:29 pm »

Not sure myself either...
If I clear the event list, everything speeds up again.

ok well that could slow it down a tad, but there is a cap on the events list at 32,000 chrs. and what happens is it starts to cut the list down to keep it from growing to large and slowing the plug-in down more.

i could add a disable the list option but i did not think it was that bad.

Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #19 on: August 25, 2006, 06:15:47 pm »

Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #20 on: November 01, 2006, 03:50:33 pm »

no replace master plugin listed on the mc12 page?

the installer I have here has an md5 checksum: 370f30305e696ff802970d0e30c5e817
is that the for the latest 0.0.24 build that I'm using atm?

I ask because it's become an indispensible tool for me, and features in my ever so slowly developing image library walk-through.
 

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #21 on: November 01, 2006, 04:57:13 pm »

i found it was not working properly for me, i was not sure why so i took it down for now.

I may look at it sat and sunday.

I wanted to make it look and work better anyway.
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #22 on: November 01, 2006, 06:02:26 pm »

sounds interesting.
Primarily, I've only really used it to manipulate actual filenames, and not had any jitters with that side of things, apart from the slowdown mentioned earlier that is. The jobs have all finished without a hitch though, which is what really matters.

Shout if you want any testing done in the near future.

jgreen

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2419
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #23 on: November 01, 2006, 06:24:25 pm »

Ditto, King.

I've been using .024 fairly steadily and have found nothing to complain about.  i would note the slowing-down thing goes from lightning-fast to just fast.
Logged

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #24 on: November 01, 2006, 06:52:07 pm »

I bought A 10 Foot Counter Top (Tan-ish In Color) Today To Replace This Table (That Really Sucks) So I May Also Rebuild This Table This Weekend, And Before Sue Yells At me To Get It Out Of The Living Room.
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71421
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #25 on: November 01, 2006, 06:59:21 pm »

I've had good luck with hollow core doors on sawhorses.  You can get the brackets at Home Depot.

Hi Sue.
Logged

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20048
Re: Replace Master usage question...
« Reply #26 on: November 01, 2006, 07:19:12 pm »

Actually I Am Going To Use 2x2's And Mount Them On The Walls To Support The Counter Tops And Then Put A Few Under The Front For Support. The Kitchen Counter Top Was Only $115 (From Lowe's, It Was Closer), So It's A Cheep Project But Nice Looking.

The Table I Am Using Now (Since I Came Out Of The Closet) Is A Plastic Fold Out Table, They Do Not Make the Tops Sturdy Anymore. So My TV Is Sort Of Sinking Into The Table (That Is Setting Ontop of My Tivo, LGI DVD Player, And Ontop Of My Sony 400 Disk DVD Player).

I May Have My Contractor (That I Use At Work) To Put New Counter Tops in My Kitchen Like These (I Need More Room) I Called Him Tonight For Advice On This Project, He Is A Good Builder.

Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA
Pages: [1]   Go Up