INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Before I give up on MJ and . . .  (Read 1777 times)

Ken Brookings

Before I give up on MJ and . . .
« on: September 06, 2002, 07:27:22 am »

I'm fairly new to MJ so all may be operator error . . but I find it very unstable.  I've had a host of database problems but found work arounds.  Now I have some sudden fatal errors, after making no settings changes. Things worked - no they don't!  I like a lot about MJ but I need to get this working now.

Biggest problem: Suddenly can't burn audio CDs.  Worked fine for a CD or two no crashes. Gets thru about burning about a file and a half from a play list then says it has an error and has to shut down, sends an error report and that's it.

Other problems.  Whenever I try to rename a file catagory a message pops (afer an unbearably long delay) up saying "failed to update the tag info for edited file . . "  This happens with all files, which are all WMA.  Tags are enabled, files are not in use and files are not read only.

Very often when I load a new file to my hard disk thru MJ I get a "Play back Engine: media jukebox unable to acquire license . . Windows Media Error 0x80070020.

Help please. I'd love to settle in on MJ as my media tool, but its sure giving me a fight.

Ken Brookings

RE:Before I give up on MJ and . . .
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2002, 07:30:41 am »

Sorry, system info is:
Media Jukebox PLUS 8.0.356
Install Path: C:\Program Files\J River\Media Jukebox\

CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2240 MHz MMX
Memory: Total - 523 MB, Free - 345 MB
OS: Microsoft Windows XP  Workstation 5.1  (Build 2600)

Internet Explorer: 6.0.2600.0000
ComCtl32.dll: 6.00.2600.0000
Shlwapi.dll: 6.00.2600.0000
Shell32.dll: 6.00.2600.0000
wnaspi32.dll: N/A

Running on a new Dell with XP Professional.  Have tried every combo (I think) of ASPI and generic driver settings.

JimH

• Citizen of the Universe