INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: help me design my dream computer around mj  (Read 1824 times)

kandarohidharmapala

help me design my dream computer around mj
« on: August 29, 2002, 02:12:53 am »

sometime in the next 6 months, i hope to be completely replacing my entire computer setup, and as using mj to listen to music mostly obtained as 128bps mp3s, want to really spend on the sound side of my new computer. as i am not a gamer, i do not feel i need the top performance graphics stuff i find most top end pcs want you to include in their configurations, and as most of my education in qulity sound reproduction comes from sound engineering, live performance, (i am a proffessional musician and music teacher), and top end hi fi, when i surf around trying to find a way of recording,(inc live/multitrack recording), and listening to music does not seem to translate into useful knowledge to guide me in choosing and configuring a new pc, or choosing software for it. (in this case, i have no knowledge of what is, or is not, compatible with mj). i am a computer newbie, and only vaguely understand how they process sound, but believe that at least one issue i need to address is how to continue with p2p, but get the highest bitrates possible. i used to use audiogalaxy until the riaa got hold of them, and recently switched to kazaalite, but as by then my 4gig hard drive was full, i have had no chance to evaluate it properly. Qi listen mostly to jazzrock/jazzfusion).