INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help needed with Smartlist  (Read 1697 times)

damian_pentney

Help needed with Smartlist
« on: August 01, 2007, 05:06:08 pm »

I'm in the process of 'digitising' my music selection and I'm new to MC and struggling to get to grips with Smartlists etc. Please don;t chew me up for asking newbie Q's because I've tried hard to to find the answer in the Help manual and Forum

here's what I am trying to acheive. I want to mimic what my current CD changers do.....when I press the random button, a cd is selected at random from the entire library and then a random track is selected from that CD. Ie a random track is selected from my entire library...... and continues infinitum .

If I try doing this with NetRemote using my entire library as the 'playlist', then it obvisouly doesn't work well (i've read why). I can work out simple random smartlists that are limited to a certain number of tracks. But what I really want is a smart list (or something equivelant) with a limited # of tracks that removes each track played in that 'session' and automatically adds a new track to the list in it's place by selecting the new track at random from my entire library (preferably without repeating a track already played in that 'session'). Ie effectively a smartlist that contains no more than x tracks that automatically and randomly works it way through my whole library without any manual intervetion along the way.

Can this be done ?

marko

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Help needed with Smartlist
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2007, 01:39:07 am »

Can this be done ?
Currently, no.