INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Auto tagging is strange!  (Read 1378 times)

rosie

• Recent member
Auto tagging is strange!
« on: March 19, 2009, 09:17:42 am »

I have been using MCxx as player for a few years and now I am looking at using it to update cover art and maybe reply gain for my 6.000+ FLAC's. I was happy with MC12 until I noticed the YEAR tag issues with flac files (http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=51118.0) so I just upgraded to MC13 where this has been resolved. Now I am trying to fully understand what MC13 is doing to my files when I use it to update tags. I guess there is no "easy to read" document that describes it so I have some qustions based on a few trial runs:

- TOOL NAME and VERSION is alwas added - no problem
- From MC13 JR_DATE is added (MC's internal time stamp format as I undertand it) - no problem as YEAR is now untouched
- for some files BPM, INTENSITY, PEAK LEVEL and REPLAY GAIN is updated - I repeat: for "some" files!

Three examples:
1) I selected all tracks in my 16 track "Two Rooms: Celebrating the Songs of Elton John & Bernie Taupin" album and opdated the cover art from the Internet. Five files, 10-14 where taged with BPM, INTENSITY, PEAK LEVEL and REPLAY GAIN values
2) In the 24 tracks "Grease" album it was 14-18
3) And before I upgraded to latest version 13 I used 12.0.534 on the 20 tracks "Let It Rock: Best Of The Georgia Satellites" album and it happend to track 7-11

Is there a natural explanation to this?

Alex B

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • The Cosmic Bird
Re: Auto tagging is strange!
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2009, 09:32:31 am »

It tags the field values you have in the library.

You can create a view that has the four "analysis" columns (= BPM, INTENSITY, PEAK LEVEL and REPLAY GAIN) visible if you want to see what you have.