INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: A New Way forward  (Read 15468 times)

rjm

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: A New Way forward
« Reply #50 on: November 15, 2009, 11:05:22 pm »

Do you have any critiques for what Lovins has to say and more specifically wrt to his book ?
It's been a while since I studied Lovin's ideas. I jumped to him early in my research because he offers an optimistic outlook but I quickly concluded that he is one of the techno-cornucopia crowd and not grounded in hard science so I no longer follow him. If I recall he believes some combination of conservation via light weight cars and renewable liquid fuels will permit us to continue our current lifestyle. I suspect if you do a search on the Oil Drum you will find lots of info that discounts Lovins.

How does one test for peak oil ?

Watch total world wide production as the price goes up. If supply is not constrained you would expect it to increase with price.

You said...

So US GDP and by extension every other would remain flat from 2012 onwards and decline into the future. Going by this list one expects TOTAL global growth to be approaching zero.

So how long to wait till its unambigous, 5 years (2017), 10 years  (2022), later ?
We won't follow a straight line down. I expect brief periods of growth that will push the price of oil up to a level that crashes the economy down to level lower than at the start of the growth cycle. Rinse and repeat for several decades. Throw in a few wars to further complicate the trajectory. But the general trend will be down.

It would have been more clear if the economic crisis had not occurred as that in itself is already a huge dampner. Already some country's rates in that list are not flat but negative ie UK & S.Korea.