INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Organising Albums  (Read 1220 times)

murrayp

• Recent member
Organising Albums
« on: September 25, 2009, 03:52:16 am »

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Media Center, and use it only for music, but I'm finding it really rather excellent, especially in sound quality via Wasapi.

I guess I'm a baby boomer, so not so "track" oriented, but rather "album" oriented.  I have around 500 cds ripped.  Rummaging through them to find a particular cd is a bit tedious if you can't remember the name to search on. Genres help, but they can be a bit hit and miss too.  What I'd really prefer is to be able to create my own subgroups or categories (preferably like folders or whatever you call them that you can click on on the left - eg like genres) such that I can name them and place whatever weird sub-category in each one that suits me.  Drag and drop would be the obvious way to do this.  I don't mean that this is where the albums then live, but that they are simply listed in that folder (and equally could be deleted from it).  Of course then they could be listed in several folders if it suited me.  Then I could click on the folder and be presented with just the few albums belonging to the sub-category.  Finding for instance an old 1960's jazz record, or one of many varied audiophile compilations, should be quite easy then.  I've seen some players use smart folders but the rules needed are not as convoluted as my needs I'm afraid!  I'm quite happy to organise my own.  One category that would be usefully employed then though, would be a category of so far un-categoprised albums - ie ones that still need referencing into subcategories.