INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: FAQ's/Tutorials for someone new to computer audio and MC14  (Read 1801 times)

sawdin

• Recent member
FAQ's/Tutorials for someone new to computer audio and MC14
« on: March 02, 2010, 11:42:22 am »

I am new to computer audio, I started a couple of weeks ago when I purchased a new computer.  Based upon some research, I've decided to start off w/ Media Center 14 as it sounds as though it will be much easier to learn how to use compared to Foobar.  (A review on the Computer Audiophile site clinched the deal.)

Besides being new to Media Center, I'm also new to computer audio software (I do know a little about different file types and differences in bitrates, etc.).  Although I have over 300 CD's, I have not ripped any of them yet and I am in no rush to do so.  Right now, I'm trying out streaming services and have decided that I prefer MOG to Rhapsody, Napster and Last.fm.  I have not yet tried Pandora or Slacker.  Rhapsody, Napster and Last.fm have too many restrictions on what can be played, how often it can be played and contain too many 'preivew' clips.

I'd greatly appreciate it if you could point me to some FAQ's/tutorials that will make it easier for me to learn how to use Media Center and hopefully not make some dumb mistakes that can be easily avoided.
Here are two sites/articles that I've found so far:

Media Center 14 info at the Well Tempered Computer:
http://www.thewelltemperedcomputer.com/SW/Players/MC14/MC14_intro.htm

Windows 7 Audio & J River Media Center 14 Configuration at Computer Audiophile:
http://www.computeraudiophile.com/content/Windows-7-Audio-JRiver-Media-Center-14-Configuration